Staff Directory

  • Reset

Harper, Ti’esh

Hourly Tutors - Classified

tnharper@seattleschools.org

Howard, Terrah

Lunchroom Assistant Manager

tehoward@seattleschools.org

Hunt, Katrina

Principal

kmhunt@seattleschools.org

Jungblom, Stephanie

Teacher-Middle School

stjungblom@seattleschools.org

Kelly, Mary

Special Education Asst/ISE - 203/7

mjkelly@seattleschools.org

Kent, Noah

Teacher-Middle School

nbkent@seattleschools.org

Krasne, Kim

Spanish Teacher

kbkrasne@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Ay…¡Me pongo feliz! I’m Kim Krasne, though everyone calls me doña Kim, and I’m so looking forward to immersing my Meany students in the magic of Spanish! I grew up in San Diego, where my father’s business was a 15-minute journey across the border in Tijuana, and I feel like I’ve been connecting the cultures ever since.

I’m a California transplant to Seattle, and I’ve been teaching Spanish at Washington Middle School since 2006. Prior to that, I taught Spanish (levels 1-5) for 11 years at Flintridge Preparatory School in La Cañada, California; I spent three years at Eagle Rock High School in Los Angeles, and I started my Spanish-teaching career with San Diego Unified School District. It adds up to a lifetime teaching Spanish.

My university education is pure Californian: A B.A.in General Literature from University of California, San Diego; a bilingual teachers’ credential program and M.A. work in Second-Language Acquisition from San Diego State, and an M.A. in Humanities from California State University at Dominguez Hills. I am proudly taking my first course this summer at UW!

I teach passionately with the idea that acquiring a second (or another) language is a life-long gift, a gift that multiplies with experience…that the Spanish my students take out of my classroom is the foundation for understanding, caring about and sharing and connecting with Spanish-speakers in our own community and in the global world to which we all belong.

I love my students, I have five kids of my own, and I look at Puget Sound every day and think how lucky I am to live and work in this city.

And, thinking about that: ¡me pongo feliz!