Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Who should I contact?

    At your child’s school

    The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

    The School Principal/Assistant Principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

    School contact directory →

    District Central Office

    The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible. When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

    Special Education Office contact information →

    Program Specialists

    Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have Program Specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program Specialists are Special Education Teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

    Regional Program Specialist Directory →

    Special Education Regional Supervisors

    Special Education Supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and Program Specialists are able to address.

    Regional Supervisor Directory →

    Program Supervisor Directory →

    Directors

    The Director of School-Based Special Education and the Director of Special Education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

    Director information →



    Department of Special Education Services

    specialed@seattleschools.org

    206-252-0058

    Fax: 206-252-0053


    Special Education Records

    spedrecords@seattleschools.org

    206-252-0892

    Fax: 206-252-0895


    Referral to Special Education

    Birth to 3 years of age

    Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

    3 to 21 years of age

    ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

    Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

    NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools


    Regional Supervisors and Program Specialists

    Northeast Region

    Northeast Regional Supervisor

    Mike Bylsma

    mebylsma@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3556

    Northeast Regional Program Specialists

    Michelle Bammert

    mtbammert@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0824
    photo of Michelle Bammert

    Schools:

    • Bryant
    • Cascade Parent Partnership
    • Eckstein
    • Green Lake
    • Hazel Wolf
    • John Rogers
    • Roosevelt
    • Sand Point
    • Wedgwood

     

    Elaine Parnell

    eeparnell@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0875
    photo of Elaine Parnell

    Schools:

    • Cedar Park
    • Decatur
    • Jane Addams
    • Laurelhurst
    • Nathan Hale
    • Olympic Hills
    • Olympic View
    • Sacajawea
    • Thornton Creek K-5
    • View Ridge

     

    Northwest Region

    Northwest Regional Supervisor

    Teresa Swanson

    taswanson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0876
    photo of Theresa Swanson

    Northwest Regional Program Specialists

    Catherine Cook

    cmcook@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0863

    photo of Catherine Cook

    Schools:

    • Adams
    • Ballard High School
    • Hamilton International Middle School
    • Ingraham High School
    • McDonald International School (team with Maki Ichikawa)
    • John Stanford International (team with Maki Ichikawa)
    • West Woodland
    • Whitman
    • Licton Springs
    • Robert Eagle Staff

     

    Maki Ichikawa

    maichikawa@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0833

    Schools:

    • Cascadia Elementary (team with Catherine Cook)
    • Daniel Bagley
    • Broadview Thomson K-8
    • The Center School
    • B.F. Day
    • Greenwood (team with Catherine Cook)
    • Loyal Heights
    • North Beach
    • Northgate
    • Salmon Bay K-8 @ Monroe
    • Viewlands
    • Whittier (team with Catherine Cook)

     

    Central Region

    Central Regional Supervisor (Interim)

    Devin Gurley

    dkgurley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0874
    photo of Devin Gurley

    Central Regional Program Specialists

    Amanda McNaughton

    ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0846
    photo of amanda mcnaughton

    Schools:

    • Bailey Gatzert
    • Frantz Coe
    • Franklin
    • John Hay
    • John Muir
    • Leschi
    • McGilvra
    • Meany
    • Seattle World School
    • Washington

     

    Jenn Pelland

    japelland@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0845 

    Schools:

    • Catherine Blaine
    • Garfield
    • Lawton
    • Lowell
    • Madrone
    • McClure
    • Montlake
    • NOVA
    • Queen Anne
    • Stevens
    • Thurgood Marshall

     

    Southeast Region

    Southeast Regional Supervisor

    Beth Thorson

    bmthorson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0262
    photo of Beth Thorson

    SE Regional Program Specialists

    Marcella Helgeson

    mehelgeson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0861
    photo of Marcella Helgeson

    Schools:

    • Cleveland
    • Mercer
    • Hawthorne
    • Interagency Academy
    • Aki Kurose
    • Rainier Beach
    • South Lake
    • South Shore K-8
    • Emerson

     

    Lisa Young

    lmyoung@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3544

    Schools:

    • Beacon Hill International
    • Dearborn Park
    • Martin Luther King Jr.
    • Graham Hill
    • Kimball
    • Maple
    • Dunlap
    • Orca K-8
    • Rainier View
    • Wing Luke
    • Van Asselt

     

    Southwest Region

    Southwest Regional Supervisor

    Gordon Fowlds

    gsfowlds@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0886
    photo of Gordon Fowlds

    Southwest Regional Program Specialists

    (interim specialist) Gordon Fowlds

    gsfowlds@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0886
    photo of Gordon Fowlds

    Schools:

    • Alki
    • Chief Sealth
    • Concord
    • Highland Park
    • Lafayette
    • Madison
    • Pathfinder
    • Roxhill
    • Sanislo

     

    Emily Caucci

    erdrossman@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0969
    Emily Caucci photo

    Schools:

    • Arbor Heights
    • Denny International
    • Fairmount Park
    • Gatewood
    • Genesee Hill
    • Middle College
    • Boren K8 STEM
    • West Seattle Elementary
    • West Seattle High School

    Programs

    Early Childhood (Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

    Early Childhood Supervisor

    Elizabeth Carter
    ercarter@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0665


    photo of beth Carter

    Preschool Program Specialists

    Heidi Gainer
    hgainer@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0849

    Jennifer Pelland
    japelland@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0845

    Birth-to-three Coordinator

    Brita Lupafya
    bjlupafya@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0835

    Preschool Admin Data Specialist

    Teresa Deegan
    tmdeegan@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0809

    Private School Referrals/Service Plans

    privateschoolservices@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0800

    Supervisor

    Robin Olney
    reolney@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0870

    photo of Robin Olney

    Private School Program Specialists

    Kristy Szablya
    klszablya@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0862
    Stephanie Rincon
    skrincon@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0860

    Private School Admin Specialist

    Lexi Garberg
    legarberg@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0495

    Vision and Deaf/Hard of Hearing

    Supervisor

    Michael Dickneite
    msdickneite@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0332


    photo of Michael Dickneite

    18-21 Year Old Transition/Bridges

    Sherry Studley
    srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0842


    photo of Sherry Studley

    Program Specialist

    Glen Boyd
    gmboyd@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0837


    photo of Glen Boyd

    504 Plans

    Supervisor

    Sherry Studley
    srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0842


    photo of Sherry Studley

    504 Administrative Assistant

    Shanon Lewis
    sdlewis@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0885



    Directors

    Chief of Student Support Services

    Wyeth Jessee
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0830


    photo of wyeth jessee

    Director of Special Education

    Trish Campbell
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

    photo of Trish Campbell

    Director of Special Education School Based Services

    Nicole Fitch
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

     Nicole Fitch photo

    Director of Special Education Operations

    Beth Mills
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

     Beth Mills photo

    Director of Student Support Services

    Kari Hanson
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058


    photo of kari hanson